ATV - Ex 1.8 - Portraying by Drawing · ATV - Pt1 - PJ3 - Picking & Portraying · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Flowers – Alternative Reality

Flowers are bright and bold,  they are both delicate and strong. For this exercise I don’t want to get caught up in making detailed, accurate drawings. I want to be bright and bold, I’d like my marks to be expressive and representative.  These two pages from my sketchbook have some examples of flower based drawings that I like.

To me they represent the concept of Alternative Reality, as defined by Helen Birch as “Real world reference and, imagination, experimentation and design”.

   
  

These next three paintings are examples of what I’m looking to achieve with this more relaxed and looser approach.

 

Leave a Reply

