ATV - Choices & Planning · ATV - Pt2 - PJ1 - Creating Surfaces · ATV - Pt2 - PJ2 - Drawing with Stitch · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Selecting what to work on next.

Focus! Keep it simple. That has been my brief all through this course so far. No over thinking but informed rational decision making. This isn’t always easy when working in an atmosphere of assessment and judgement (peers and tutors). 

I try very hard to ignore this and to work as an artist would: using their own eye and judgement to decide which direction to go in next. But then at least I don’t have the haunting consideration of ‘will this sell’.

So my choices? What governs them? 

1. Putting something right – taking something I don’t really like and seeking out ways to make it a pleasure to view. 

  
2. Making something bigger – this is tricky, pretty lines and shapes are just that so how does extending and stitching something take it to a new level? 

The answer must be in the selection process. I am going to experiment with taking an area of a drawing that now transmutes the original source into something very different.

  
3. Turning flatness into texture – taking a mark making exercise that hints at depth and tone and experimenting with creating that texture with stitch.

  
4. Building and developing a feeling or idea – another tricky challenge, I like the dreamy quality of these seed heads and can I improve on this or will stitch just overwork the image and alter its original qualities?

  
5. Fixing an issue with colour – when the basic composition is sound but the colour is not pleasing I can remedy with different colour choices.

  

6. Working across several pieces to identify unusual and interesting compositions – where there are several sketches on one page and sometimes lines and textures created by the base paper(s) then I like to block a small area that covers different elements.

  
That should be enough to get me started. I’ve got my view finders and once I’ve started moving them round my actual picture selections may change but I shall endeavour to keep to the 6 guidelines above.

   
 

2 thoughts on “Selecting what to work on next.

Leave a Reply

