Feedback from tutors

ATV – Assignment 2 – Formative Feedback

Heart pounding, trembling finger poised, does anyone else know that feeling when that Assignment Feedback email arrives??

It always takes me unawares even when I’m expecting it. A million thoughts tumble around in my mind: how much rework? Was it awful? Have I totally missed the brief? Am I kidding myself that I can do this? If it’s good, have I peaked too early? SHUT UP!! 

PRESS the button! Then that little windmill – is there time for a nerve steadying brandy before it loads?

AND relax! I often wonder if any other creature than humans have this almost desperate desire to please and gain approval. Could be!

  
So, down to business, the feedback. 

Overall Comments

Sally this is a considered and sensitive body of work. There is evidence that you have explored with care a wide range of approaches to drawing including stitch. You have made lots of work that is well organised and annotated throughout. Your written material on your learning log and your sketchbooks is articulate, questioning and reflective. I would suggest there is nothing you need to redo or add to this assignment

Huge relief, this sounds okay doesn’t it? It’s organised so that’s okay, I’m usually very haphazard but it looks like I have remembered something from my City & Guilds Embroidery courses! And no rework – phew!! To have my work described as ‘considered’ and ‘sensitive’ is hugely uplifting for me, it’s something I’ve always wanted so I’m very pleased with this feedback.

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity 

There is evidence that this assignment has been well thought through with attention to all the elements in the design process – research, drawing, thinking and sample making. This has resulted in a strong group of samples that demonstrate both technical and visual skills. There is an exciting use of colour and development of textures through layering and stitching that result in dynamic surfaces. You have used an effective considered approach to developing your sampling resulting in three final outcomes. Your samples show an understanding of placement and composition, my personal favourites are on pages 2 and 3 where you have used squared off shapes often in orange. These lines and shapes have then been nicely translated into a larger more resolved sample. I suggest you continue to use the design process to generate innovative textile samples

Everything is good here, I am so pleased and relieved (again) that I am working in the right direction.

   
   
 

Sketchbooks

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

You have used drawing throughout this assignment, always in a positive and exciting way. The investigative drawings you have done in the ‘smocks & flowers’ group are particularly well done. There is a sense that you are really looking and trying to understand the shapes and lines before you. Along with your annotation this section of work shows a high understanding of why this kind of drawing is so important. The ‘smock’ sketchbook contains such a variety of materials, mediums and approaches to drawing in your exploration of the smock. This is evidence that you have a broadminded approach to drawing and demonstrates creativity. You have also submitted a number of large-scale drawings; I particularly like the page that you have divided with blocks of colour. There is a looser approach here compared to your other drawings that adds energy to the compositions. I suggest you continue to use your ingenuity in creating innovative drawings.  

I took a bit of a risk with the Smock sketchbook, making it from old papers and a guide to Manchester. It meant I had to fill every page but whilst this stretched me the multiple types off paper encouraged me to try lots of different ways to record the qualities of the garments. I was worried that I had done too much and in doing so had failed to make anything of consequence, this positive feedback came as a relief and I am very pleased that it wasn’t just me that like my paintings and sketchbook.

   

 

Research

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

For this assignment you have used some interesting research material. It is relevant to the work you are doing but it also stretches your ideas and has informed your work. This is great. The research is annotated, asking questions and searching for ideas, with areas of highlighting. I suggest you continue to work in this way but also add in lengthier descriptions of what you see and understand when looking at the work of others. Use your critical thinking skills to learn about the work and its relevance to your own practice.

 I’d got a feeling this was where I needed to concentrate more effort in future. I’ve already started collecting words and phrases that I can use to extend my vocabulary. Rebecca has recommended a couple of books for me to read to help with my critical thinking and I’m going to have to develop more patience so I can write more. It’s no good if all my thoughts stay tucked away in my head.

  

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context, reflective thinking, critical thinking, analysis

It is lovely to read that this is some of the most creative work you have done. I am pleased the course is both stretching and supporting you. Your learning log and the annotation throughout this assignment has been written in a frank and honest style. There is evidence you are learning through your experiences; through looking at others peoples work, looking at your own work and the process of creativity. This will allow you to come to your own conclusions and develop your own ideas about what is pleasing and interesting.  

Your blog is easy to navigate with lots of imagery and reflective thinking. I have a couple of suggestions – firstly to add a research category so that I can quickly go to it and see what you have been exploring. The other is to add your feedback forms as a category along with your responses to the feedback.  

It’s true this course is stretching and supporting me and I’m loving every minute of it and it is particularly nice to have formal recognition of the work I am putting in and especially that I am going in the right direction. Maybe now I can get some confidence in what I am producing and concentrate on really finding my own visual language and developing my ideas.

This week has been a particularly good one for me and my blog,  as anyone who reads my blog will know, I have problems with ‘blithering’ blogging and I don’t write as often as I should. I still write a lot of my thoughts and my planning in notebooks and sketchbooks and I’m still struggling to find a healthy balance between the digital and the traditional.  But this week I’ve had Rebecca’s feedback and my copy of the OCA Handbook that includes a reference to my blog for all the students to see. I’m very flattered and still blushing.

So that’s assignment 2 done and dusted and now onwards and upwards to assignment 3. 

  

12 thoughts on “ATV – Assignment 2 – Formative Feedback

Leave a Reply

