ATV - Choices & Planning · ATV - Ex 3.3 - Watercolour Studies · ATV - Part 3 - Colour Studies · ATV - Pt3 - Pj2 - Materials & Composition · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

ATV – Colour Studies – Watercolour Studies

This task has been quite a bit of fun; this next part started with choosing 4 to 6 glass vessels and placing them into a nice still life.

I set up a ‘table’ using a box of pebbles, a white box lid, a big sheet of paper and a light box. It was a beautiful, rare sunny morning so the light was just right. Once the arrangement was ‘just right’ then I would need to paint the colours in watercolour paints.

Although I enjoy using paint and the task didn’t ask for the vessels to be painted; only the colours, I didn’t feel confident to go straight into the painting. Instead I decided to have a play with some photographs and my iPhone apps.

IMG_7435

I just played with the colours, brightening them up and strengthening the lines and depth of the colour. I love the way the light box light makes the glasses look like they are floating in the air.

IMG_7444

This image has the colours inverted, one day I really must find out what that means. This version lookes more like a batik. I love the palette of bright sunny blues, purples and orangey yellows.

IMG_7442

I used the Fragment app to create a digitally made stripe pattern of the colours in the composition, there is still so much detail. Colour just loves to be as complicated as possible.

IMG_7453

I then added a small crystal glass and a pair of clear safety glasses and took a close up photograph. This gives the composition more compartments and lines.

IMG_7455

Then finally I used the Brushstroke app to electronically paint the composition. I love the stripes, the colours and the way the crystal glass looks like stained glass windows in a church. Gorgeous.

 

 

One thought on “ATV – Colour Studies – Watercolour Studies

Leave a Reply

