Art · ATV - Ex 4.3 - Re-interpret, re-invent · ATV - Part 4 - Yarn & it's Manufacture · ATV - Pt4 - Pj2 - Creating Linear Forms · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Re-interpret, re-invent. Explorations

After doing the design work I decided I’d do some samples using an overhand knot technique that is used to make strings with buttons. So ploughing on forgetting that I should be using one of the 3 techniques I had previously learnt I started making samples.

I selected buttons and yarns with the same colours as the ones I’d used in the colour wraps. I really quite liked the results, the colours worked together well but I felt they were too simple and there was nothing new or exciting about them.

Using my sketchbook I worked up a few more inventive designs.


And then using the yarns from the original yarn wraps I worked up a couple of samples.


Again these didn’t fill me with excitement, they were starting to meet the brief but they didn’t say anything about me and had very little evidence of my style.


I think this sample is far more me, I like both sides of the piece but I didn’t feel that they reflected back to the original yarn wraps enough.


This sample started to look more fun and interesting and I like the explosion of colour. It was at this point that as I looked back at the samples to decide which features of the samples appeals to me most and I looked at the ripple effect created by the threading of the yarn through the button/felt that I remembered I was meant to be using the new techniques.

So for the last sample I used the three stick weaving technique and the lovely textured clumps of Oliver Twist threads that I had used briefly in the yarn wraps to make a very bright and chunky exploration. 


I’m really not sure that I have reached a satisfactory conclusion to this exercise by I am going to move onto the next exercise and if I feel I need to I will go back and revisit the requirements.

Leave a Reply

