Art · ATV - Ex 4.3 - Re-interpret, re-invent · ATV - Part 4 - Yarn & it's Manufacture · ATV - Pt4 - Pj2 - Creating Linear Forms · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Trying New Techniques 

I already know how to knit and crochet but there are plenty more ways to make cords and strings. It was fun looking for techniques to try and slightly scary because I’d need to at least learn the very basics of the ones I chose.

Firstly I had a go at stick weaving. It’s very simple and the technique gives you a lovely restful ripple effect. I did 2 samples: the first with three sticks and the second with five. I did a little bit of experimentation with yarn choices.


Macramé was the first word in the table of techniques in the course materials that appealed to me, it caused two feelings, one of dread: wasn’t it naff, old fashioned? And one of interest: is there potential here? Could new things be created from this dated technique? 

None of my fluffy yarns were suitable for macramé on their own so I made a sample using a thick yarn as a base with thin fabric strips to make the knots. I also made a sample completely with the fabric strips. Both samples worked okay but the fabric tends to fray and this distracts from the knotting. They look better in the close up photographs.


Lastly I had a go at french knitting, this is a very restful technique and it was nice to see that you could add in various yarns to give different effect. I particularly liked these strings, they were soft and springy.

Leave a Reply

