Art · ATV - Ex 4.4 - Deconstructing Colour as Yarn · ATV - Part 4 - Yarn & it's Manufacture · ATV - Pt4 - Pj2 - Creating Linear Forms · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Exercise 4.3 – Hands-on Exploration

After deciding that I was not comfortable with any of the new techniques that I’d researched, don’t get me wrong I like them, particularly the stick weaving and I’m sure I will go back to them later. The problem was I was finding it difficult to be truly experimental and to concentrate on the colour whilst I was getting caught up with how well I was working with the new skills. So after deciding this I thought why don’t I make some samples using crochet and knitting which I am very, almost too comfortable with. This would still challenge me because I almost always crochet or knit to a pattern and being more experimental will challenge my preconceived ideas.

Many of the original yarns have now gone so I selected some more that matched the yellow yarn wrap. I worked a base yarn using different weights and textures of yarn on a variety of sizes of crochet needle. Working across and down. Once the base was finished I felt that it was too fluffy and undefined so I used a corse yarn made from nettles to run a focusing line down the yarn.


I was really quite pleased with the result, I felt like I could work with this yarn and I would be happy to make more and to develop the idea further.

Then I worked on developing a yarn with the emphasis on the blue yarn wrap. I love the contrast between light and the dark blue and the way it translates across from bulky to slender. It looks nice from the front and on the reverse. 


I was a little concerned that the blue yarn was too like conventional crochet so with the next sample I tried to be far less defined and built up the layers using highly contrasting materials, using the full colour palette. I am pleased with the results of these experiments, they may not be the most inventive but I find them more pleasing to look at than the previous set of samples.

I really like the contrast of light/dark, bulky/thin so for the final crochet sample I took this further by including a silk yarn that could be split and frayed. I used the nettle yarn again and got quite excited when the bulky yarn started to turn back on itself and I had a random mesh of the slim yarn developing between the thicker side pieces. The silk has the most beautifully delicate qualities and frays wonderfully. I’d really like some more but I’ve only got some scraps.

2 thoughts on “Exercise 4.3 – Hands-on Exploration

  1. Loads of wonderful contrasts here. I like the way you have brought together thick and thin. Lovely colour combinations too. I hope you get your feedback soon. I enjoyed Part a million times more than Part 4, I’m sure you will too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

