Art · ATV - Assignment 4 · ATV - Part 4 - Yarn and Linear Exploration · ATV - Reflections · Feedback from tutors · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

ATV – Assignment 4 – Written Reflection

What a huge relief, it’s been posted. The assignment has gone, its long overdue and I had to sprint to the end but it’s done.

Now for a little bit of reflection, what have I learnt? I’ve learnt that great ideas don’t always bring great results and focusing and narrowing down my choices helps to create interesting results.

My favourite material across all of the exercise was the photographs, both the Instax pics and the ones printed on sticky back paper. It was less fiddly than working yarns with my hands. This leads to how I preferred knitting, crocheting and weaving to the knitting and macrame.

I really had never thought of making my own yarn, it wasn’t something I had considered before but now I would definitely like to work with the ideas that I have had along the way. I like the small layered pieces but still feel they aren’t really yarn but they could be pieced together to make larger collages.

The twisted yarns and the yarns made with the sewing machine would also be good for crouching and would add big patches of colour and texture.

Working on yarn is quite a different beast from working with fabric, there is no real handle or drape in the same way. The qualities that you are looking to create are different and I’m not sure that I always hit the mark.

Many of my samples have only one side, they would have to be attached to a piece of fabric they could never be stitched or knotted.

I shall be waiting for my feedback to see if I have understood and done what I was expected to, I really have no idea on this one. It’s been very different and very new but I’m so glad I’ve done it even if it’s not right.

Leave a Reply

