Art · ATV - Ex 4.5 - Collage inspired yarn · ATV - Part 4 - Yarn and Linear Exploration · ATV - Pt4 - Pj2 - Creating Linear Forms · Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Collage Inspired Yarn – Ex 4.5 – Planning

I’ve been looking forward to this exercise right from the beginning and it’s been fun. I usually start most exercises with a bit of a brain dump and this one hasn’t be any different.

I looked back at the collage work that I had done during Colour Studies and picked out some of the main elements and points that appealed to me and then put some of the ideas together with the instructions in the course materials and some of the more interesting elements from Ex 4.4. 



The idea that appealed to me most was the Polaroid photographs and at first I thought I would take photos of the workroom to replicate the original collages but time got the better of me and I ended up taking the Instax camera out with me on a dog walk. My plan was to look for fairly interesting shapes, flowers maybe but I soon became drawn to the fences that are all along my usual dog walk and I took 9 photos of the various fences. I was particularly drawn to the ones around the children’s play area and those around the wildlife areas and pools.


They were really interesting, I enjoyed taking them and they started me thinking about the feelings that they gave me.


It’s quite a well worn path, this one looking at the loss of our green spaces and the way that us humans are slowly spreading out across the world. Inch by inch covering more and more of the land with structures and concrete and tarmac. 

I need more time to think about this to stop it just becoming another cliche, therefore I decided to keep this idea on the periphery, let it develop on its own.

Before I started the last yarn concepts I put together some ideas and materials, it’s lovely layering up colours and fabrics.


And I had a go at a couple quick little yarns.

Leave a Reply

