ATV – Building a Response – Develop Textile Concepts – Pt3

It’s been a while since I made these pieces but I’ve been out of sync with the blogs for this part of ATV so I’m sorry if this blog sounds a little stilted. I decided today that if I didn’t get this blog up to date then I wouldn’t be sleeping tonight.

For this batch of ideas I decided to work with a lino print, I’ve never made one before, even though I’ve had the equipment for years (typical!). I found the cutting surprisingly easy and I’ll definitely be making more.


I’m really pleased with the print that I get from the stamp, it works well on flat/smooth paper and more textured paper and I especially like it when used to make blocks of print. I’m hoping it will also work well on fabric.


Sticking with the idea of repeated prints and keeping to my black, white and yellow colour palette I started to put together some ideas. They aren’t as simple as I had originally planned but I’m not going to force myself to keep to my original guidelines if my instincts start to take me in another direction. 

I used the base print and a print of one of the original textile archive photographs and added an almost transparent organza and some simple stitches.


I wanted to keep the black blocked shapes from before even if I wanted to go with more detail so I used a couple of paper cutouts to frame the composition.


I’m really loving these black solid shapes, they are perfect for framing and every one I cut is slightly different. This happens because although I set out with a sense of curving I’m not always sure what I’m cutting, my hand eye coordination isn’t brilliant and often I just have to run with it, letting instinct take over. I’m never going to be able to cut like Matisse!

This next piece is a much simpler composition and although the circle is an often used focal point I just felt I wanted to have a go and add one.


Eszter Bornemisza often uses a circle in her beautifully delicate and expressive pieces. It works to draw the eye into the piece exactly where she wants your journey as you view her work.


In the first 2 concepts I used screen printing paint to make the print so with the next one I chose a different medium and used Indian ink to print onto white and white acrylic paint to print onto black. These I added together and drew in some detail to test out where I might add some stitches if I was working with fabric.


As I often do with my last piece of work of the day I had a little bit of fun with the bits of paper left over on my desk and randomly I threw in a bit of green.

Categories: Art, ATV - Part 5 - Building a collection, ATV - Part 5 - PJ 2 - Building a Response, ATV - Pt5 - PJ2 - Develop textile concepts, Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

3 replies »

  1. I just typed a very intelligent (!) response to this post and then accidentally deleted it (me and technology still not on the same page!) Anyway the gist of what I was trying to say is that I like your colour selection- I find dark grey/yellow very soothing. The print with added organza and stitching is lovely, almost dreamlike: I am drawn in and then I get lost in a maze of lines. Adding the black frames does increase the contrast making a more dynamic composition. When I first saw your Lino prints I worried that I couldn’t really sense the ‘you’ in them but having viewed the following pieces, particularly the cleaning up shot I can still tell they are yours! Keep going, you’re nearly at the end! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love you pieces here. And a strong reference to Eszter Bornemisza, I can totally see where you are coming from there. I have a book about her work and she shares a sure hand and an ability to fill a space in a pleasing manner with you. good going!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

