ATV – Building A Response – Develop Textile Concepts – Pt4

I really can’t believe how behind I am with these blog posts. It might be quite difficult for me to remember exactly what I was doing but it might be nice to go back for consolidation before I start the capsule collection.

After making the textile concepts with the Lino prints I wanted to have a go at making some collages using some of the papers I had left lying around including the photocopies of the photographs of the vintage smocks. This feel right, as if I’m closing the circle between the original source and where my experiments and explorations have led to.

I started by layering up some papers.


 

Then I added some colour with liquid watercolour and a nice circular focal point.


 I’m not sure if I was in a dark mood when I was building these collages, or maybe it’s these John Connolly books about Charlie Parker that I keep listening to on Audible whilst I work but I really felt a need to add lots of black using pastels and oil sticks to this collage.

  

I particularly like the way the pastel highlights the edges of the circle.


This next sample has gone off in a slightly different direction, it’s still abstract but there are grasses or leaves. It makes me think of underwater forests of seaweed.


And there just wasn’t enough black, I wanted lots more black! I like this composition and I like the way the photocopy works but I’m not going to make it into a sample. I’m just going to carry forward the idea of using the original images.


This final sample was a total conglomeration of all the remaining stuff, all layered with some more black. 


Ooh I do love layering up papers and I thought I should stop having so much fun and add some thread so that at least I vaguely look like I’m doing my OCA work and making textile concepts!

Categories: Art, ATV - Part 5 - PJ 2 - Building a Response, ATV - Pt5 - PJ2 - Develop textile concepts, Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary

Leave a Reply

