Art · MMT - Pjt2 - Tearing and cutting · MMT - Pt1 - Pj2 - Ex5 - Creating Flaps · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Pt1 – Pj2 – Ex5 – Creating Flaps

With this exercise I was pretty sure before I started what I wanted to do before I started. I’ve had this colour chart for a while and had been wondering what to do with it and when this I saw the instructions on creating flaps I knew I had found a happy occupation for these little colour chips. 


I very rarely work with clean, simple lines, I’m more a messy sketchy kinda person so the idea in my head presented me with a challenge. I knew I would need to use maths with is something very likely to send me into a panic, despite being a knitter and a quilter! But if there is nothing that I’ve gained from this course it is that you’ve got to try; sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. So I got out my ruler and started drawing and calculating.


Oh I was proud of myself, all those lines and little notes until I realised that when I folded the paper back my notes and pencil lines would be visible, doh! What a numpty but I decided to plough on and try to concentrate on cutting well within the lines, the pen notes might make a nice bit of added detail. The truth is I was too lazy to start again.


In actual fact the page looked okay after I’d done all the cutting. The surface still looked nice and clean despite my desk being very grubby, my shoulders were aching but I was happy with the result.

It took a good while to rip the little chips off their original card and then stick them down on to their new home, I decided to keep the original ordering because they worked so well on the chart why change the flow at this stage. The juxtaposition of the colours would change anyway because my chart layout is different and I wanted to see if this changed the overall harmony in any way.

I’m really pleased with the end result. The little bits of pen do show but they didn’t really disturb the image.


For such a simple design there was lots of potential with moving the flaps and the lighting to get different views of the colours and the textures. 

The images made me think of lines of buildings or soldiers on parade. After the events at Glenfell tower the little boxes of different colours made me think of all the tower blocks with coloured cladding that you see in our towns and cities. The campaign of repeated, regulated, unstoppable regeneration, a good idea that pounded on regardless of questions and second thoughts. 

If I was to develop this into a textile piece I would have one little grey flap in amongst the others, a small beacon of disaster, a jarring spike of hindsight to remind us that regeneration is much more that just improving the view for the surrounding neighbourhood. 


3 thoughts on “MMT – Pt1 – Pj2 – Ex5 – Creating Flaps

Leave a Reply

