Art · MMT - Part 1 - Surface Distortion · MMT - Pt1 - Pj3 - Ex3 - Using Hot Water · MMT - Pt1 - Project 3 - Heating & Fusing · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Pt1 – Pj3 – Ex3 – Using Hot Water – Part1

Polyester fabric? Uck! It’s horrible stuff but you need it for this exercise. The only other time I’ve used synthetic fabric was when using transfer paints. You do get some lovely bright images but the fabric is just so unpleasant to handle. 

I was not enthused about this exercise but I chose this one over the heating and burning exercise because I’m unsure about these as well because of the horror stories I’ve heard about harmful gasses filling up your lungs.

To start I needed to identify which fabrics in my stash were synthetic, in my memory was something about burning the edge of the material and from how it burnt or smelt you could tell if it was man made or not. In a well ventilated room I did a bit of burning, I didn’t go as far as wearing a mask, I’m not that paranoid, I did used to smoke after all.

I could smell celery, so it’s synthetic – don’t ask!!!


Next came selecting what I wanted to wrap, I have no shortage was solid items with interesting shapes. I’m a hoarder of pebbles, shells and other interesting (to me at least) ephemera.

 

All enthusiast at last I started to wrap up my items with loom bands.


I added seeds that I thought might add some colour (no chance really on synthetic material) and interesting bits of glass.


They all looked so cute wrapped up and then ready in the pan for boiling. There are more images on my instagram feed Sallyharrisonart.


I stood over the pan all excited then disaster struck. The loom bands, I’d been so proud of this time saving idea, were melting, everything was unravelling. It was a horror story in a saucepan.


Not to be defeated I whipped then out of the water and plunged them into cold water and then put them out to dry. As you can see even Gemmie wasn’t that impressed.


And in the end? Rubbish! There is some moulding and shape but it can’t even be described as subtle and delicate. It just looks weird and half hearted. Back to the drawing board then.

Leave a Reply

