Art · MMT - Part 2 - Joining and Wrapping · MMT - Research · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Part 2 – Research – Part 2

I don’t think any journey into the world of art that has joins as one of its main features would be complete without looking at the monumental work of El Anatsui. The scale of his work captures your attention first and the patience that must be required to built up such vast expanses of tiny pieces joined together with wire is enviable. 

Another amazing aspect of El Anatsui’s work is his ability to maintain balance and beauty in his composition at this scale, it’s hard to stand back and look when you are working with metres of metal ‘fabric’.


Again I had found an artist that uses found and repurposed materials, it’s as if joining and re-cycling goes hand in hand. 

Is this because you are:-

  • Building
  • Displaying
  • Changing the purpose of the found item
  • Lifting / attaching heavier items?

Could it also be because the artist wants to display as much of the individual items as possible? I had a quick go at putting this thought into practice in my sketchbook.


Throughout this research exercise I had been gathering words and I decided to lay them out on a mindmap and then because I really want to extend my vocabulary I looked up the words in a thesaurus and added the similar words and a few ideas for materials. I think these should keep me going for a little while!


My last foray into joining research led me to Ali Ferguson and her ‘patchwork’ made with wood and embellished with delicate sewing items. It’s not to my taste but I admire her choice and her ability to make such beautiful work with such a solid, functional material.

One thought on “MMT – Part 2 – Research – Part 2

Leave a Reply

