Art · MMT - Part 2 - Joining and Wrapping · MMT - Research · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Pt2 – Pj1 – Research – Part 3 

I was given a ‘joining’ gift by the seaside the other week. A wonderful friend invited me to stay at her flat in Colwyn Bay, I had the days to myself and in the evenings we chatted and knitted. Oh, and ate cake!!

It was interesting being forced to be alone with time to spare. I spend quite a bit of time on my own but I don’t always use the time productively. I sneak out and sit in cafe’s, I meet up with friends, I go shopping, I drink a glass of wine in the garden. It’s all about staying with the pack and hiding from actually doing something. In my mind I want to sit outside and draw, I want to take interesting photographs but I’m too embarrassed and it’s easier to not draw attention and work sheltered in my room.

The weather was good so I went down to the beach, I felt strange being there on my own, I was the only one and sat quietly for a while with my headphones on. After a while I decided to go down on to the sand and have a look for shells, all the time expecting the beach police to tap me on the shoulder and ask me just what I thought I was doing stealing from the sea.

The coast line in Colwyn Bay is beautiful and quiet, it’s a very underrated part of Wales, the beach is very clean and stretches for a good distance. It also has a very interesting but sadly decaying, neglected pier. It’s a photographers dream! The fence around the pier is underwater at high tide and when the water retreats it leaves small pieces of seaweed holding onto the metal. 


I felt more relaxed after I taken a few photos of the fence and I set out across the beach past where the promenade is closed for repairs and came to a very makeshift fence put together with bits of scaffolding. 


I had plenty of time so I took lots of photos, again waiting for someone to tell me to move along, I was nervous but I carried on.

The joints were amazing, all enhanced by barnacles, lichen and seaweed. 


When I got home I printed off some collages of the photographs I’d taken and cut out some colour snaps to do some colour palette practice.


Then I had ago at doing some drawings and paintings of the images.


Finally I made a few mixed images with the left over bits of photograph. 


All very comfortable and not out of my comfort zone if you ignore my slight awkwardness at being alone on the beach but I really did have a good time and I do love the photographs.

6 thoughts on “MMT – Pt2 – Pj1 – Research – Part 3 

  1. Lovely work here with the photos. You are an artist Sally – and with that title comes the ‘license to do stuff’, drawing and taking photos etc. Think of James B – his was a license to kill. But we are students with a license to unfold ourselves. And if that doesn’t help – think of the rest of us. We all are out there trying to do just like you do. And what is more you are an inspiration to the rest of us with your keen eye. So no more excuses. More of this good stuff, please!!! xxinger

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

