Art · MMT - Part 2 - Joining and Wrapping · MMT - Part 2 - Project 1 - Joining · MMT - Pt2 - Pj1 - Ex1 - joining straight flush edges · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Pt2 – Pj1 – Ex1 – Joining straight flush edges

Today I found the cut-sew-cut-sew repeat technique that I really like and would like to explore with different materials and in various sizes but before that I was trying to find a way of joining straight edges together that got me feeling interested and creative.

Whilst I had the sewing machine out I spent some time slicing and sewing some different materials. I had a play with some plastic, keeping to a grey, black and white colour palette to start off with. Mixing in some paper to add a little bit of contrast.


It was easy but didn’t light my fire, apart from this piece where the plastic got caught up between the sides of the feet and made a lovely gentle ridge. I repeated the stitching until the whole piece was stitched through. The ridges and stitches made the plastic look like smocked fabric which always appeals to me.


I felt a bit syntheticed out after sewing the plastic so I stitched a couple of organic, natural items. The feathers were cheating really and although I love the seed pods I think this is very me and doesn’t show me pushing my boundaries enough. 


Then I had a play with the balloons! They are fab! The colours are bright and I chose fabrics to join, frame or complement that I thought worked well with the balloon colour and contrasted with the smooth rubber.

The line of bright balloons are stitched together and stand side by side with a soft, white textured slab of felt. They make me think of carnivals and beach huts. I ran out of balloons or I might just have done a few more!

Leave a Reply

