Art · MMT - Part 2 - Joining and Wrapping · MMT - Part 2 - Project 1 - Joining · MMT - Pt2 - Pj1 - Ex1 - joining straight flush edges · Textiles 1 - Mixed Media for Textiles

MMT – Pt2 – Pj1 – Ex1 – joining straight flush edges

Yesterday after a day of sewing joins you’d have thought I’d had enough but I was getting very frustrated with not being able to find something that I wanted to repeat and experiment with so in the evening I did some hand stitching.

I thought it might be nice to work with some small pieces of fabric and because felt is quite solid and cuts with a smooth edge so that’s what I used.

I made a few structural pieces, the shapes don’t gel very well for me and I think they need more elements to make them work properly.


Using a feather in the joint worked better and I particularly like this first sample. The feather sinks into the felt in a very satisfying way, it looks very comfortable tucked between the 2 edges and the brighter and defined stitches keep it help there safe and secure.


This piece I worked using contrasting fabrics and in the actual sample the effect is quite dull, it only came into its own once it was photographed and manipulated using iPhone photography apps.



The final sample also benefited from a little iPhone enhancement, the fabric was very soft and it was difficult to sew the feathers across the gap. In the end I gave up and rubbed the feathers to make them frayed and flighty.  Pretty but not what I was looking for.


Leave a Reply

